South Carolina
Association for MIddle Level Education

Board Organization

The Executive Board of the South Carolina Association for Middle Level Education consists of eleven elected members: President, President-Elect or Immediate Past President, Secretary, Secretary-Elect, Treasurer, Treasurer-Elect, Lower Coastal Regional Director, Lower Midlands Regional Director, Piedmont Regional Director, Upper Coastal Regional Director, and Upper Midlands Regional Director.  The President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Regional Directors serve two- year terms.  The President-Elect or Immediate Past President, Secretary-Elect, and Treasurer-Elect serve one-year terms.   Additionally, representatives of SCASA-Middle Level Principals, SC Professors of Middle Level Education, and SC Department of Education serve on the Board.  The Executive Director is an ex-officio member of the Board.

The Association is a non-profit organization incorporated by the State of South Carolina.  The organization is governed by a constitution adopted by the membership.‚Äč


2018-2019 Board and Committee Appointments


Executive Board Members

Executive Director
Tina Jamison
tina.jamison@scamle.org

President
Dr. Dixon Brooks
Chief Instructional Officer
Lexington School District 2, West Columbia, SC
dbrooks@lex2.org


Past-President
Sarah Evanson-Atkinson
Instructional Coach
Ralph Chandler Middle School, Greenville, SC
sevanson@greenville.k12.sc.us

Secretary
Tammy Small
Assistant Principal
Pine Tree Hill Elementary School, Kershaw, SC
tammy.small@kcsdschools.net

Treasurer
Dr. David D. McDonald
Assistant Superintendent for School Leadership
Greenville County Schools, Greenville, SC
dmcdonald@greenville.k12.sc.us

Treasurer- Elect
Stephanie Hucks
Principal
Busbee Creative Arts Academy, Cayce, SC
shucks@lex2.org


Board Members

Upper Midlands Regional Director
Christy Matkovich
Assistant Principal
Springfield Middle School, Fort Mill, SC
matkovichc@fortmillschools.org

Lower Midlands Regional Director
Karis Mazyck
Principal
Blythewood Middle School, Blythewood, SC
kmazyck@richland2.org

Piedmont Regional Director
Jeff Jenkins
Principal
Ralph Chandler Middle School, Greenville, SC
jjenkins@greenville.k12.sc.us

Upper Coastal Regional Director
Dr. Katie Walker
Assistant Professor
Coastal Carolina University, Conway, SC
mwalker2@coastal.edu

Lower Coastal Regional Director
Jennifer Heard
Assistant Principal
Daniel Island  School, Berkeley, SC
heardj@bcsdschools.net

State Department of Education Representative
Libby Ortmann
Educator Effectiveness and Leadership
Columbia, SC
oortmann@ed.sc.gov

SCASA Middle Level Representative
Vacant




About us

The vision of South Carolina Association for Middle Level Education, the leading proponent for the education of young adolescents, is to serve as an advocate for quality middle level education; promote public awareness and create support; and provide quality member services.

Become a member

Join the growing list of middle level educators in South Carolina by signing up for active memberships in the only organization in SC devoted solely to middle level issues.

Contact us

South Carolina 
Association for Middle Level Education

225 Gardenwalk Drive
West Columbia, SC 29170

Phone +1.803.261.6117 (call or text)

E-mail: tina.jamison@scamle.org

Log in
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software